Tulips for Mother’s Day Weekend

/ /
Because of a weekend filled with lots of outdoor work and preparing for new flooring inside… and Mother’s Day excursions tomorrow… I’m simply picking up and pasting two posts that I put on my facebook business page earlier in the week. Neither one is necessarily a “Mother’s Day” message… I hope to post something else for that tomorrow. But for today, it’s these two… both about moms and each with tulips . . .

.

i picked our two pink tulips and put them in a vase
While I never want losing a newborn to define me, Anysia very much shapes all of my thoughts and even the things I do. So where last year I merely saw the two lone tulips in the sparse flower bed outside my window as just that—two lone tulips—I now see them as pink and pretty. And I see one is big like me and the other small like her. I imagine that she would have liked pink, though I probably would have made it hard for her because it’s not a color I’ve ever been drawn to, and I have no pink in my house {except the bathtub, sink and toilet that came with the house}. I think about how I’m outnumbered by boys in this house… with their guitars and Hot Wheels cars/sets overrunning the place {which I secretly love, but don’t tell them that}, and how it’s nice to have something floral and frilly around because it makes me think of her and what life might have been like with her here. I see the light in the photo and think of how much light her life shed on mine… and how God shed light in our darkest days. I think of how these flowers will not last, but I am enjoying the beauty they hold while I can… and how much that sentence reminds me of my daughter’s brief six hours with us. And so I no longer just see two flowers in a vase where there are two flowers in a vase. I now see so much more.

I almost dug these tulips up to give them away… Again, I’m just not a pink person. This same bulb yielded two flowers last year, too. But as of this year, I think I’ll keep it around and bring the tulips in to enjoy in a vase for as many years to come as I can. These two are 2014’s. I hope you find them as lovely as I do.

.
.

.. •......
.
.

_DSC7465
I was delighted to be asked to take a few photos for my friend who will be starting a fashion and lifestyle blog that is meant to complement the already thriving Instagram account she has going. She has always been one of my fashion inspirations. Not surprisingly, many people look to her for fashion inspiration on Instagram where a large following of women can not only see her ideas and suggestions about what to wear, but also have the opportunity to buy from her thrifted and/or new wardrobe finds… including entire outfits put together by her. So she’s sort of a personal shopper, stylist and boutique owner all rolled up into one.

And she’s a great reminder to women who have kids {she has four of her own} that you don’t have to give up on trying to look stylish just because you are busy being Mom {something I struggle a lot with… I sort of gave up on all that this past year}.

Recently, she’s had various jewelry and clothing manufacturers become interested in having her showcase their products, so she felt it was time to start a blog… and thus, needed some shots for the layout. I was honored to take those shots! And it was just plain fun to do.

She impresses me with her fashion sense, to be sure. But it’s her heart that I’m most drawn to in regards to our friendship. I was honored that she was one of the people who came to meet my baby girl in the hospital last December… and she was such a prayerful and helpful friend during the difficult pregnancy, and in the days that followed our loss as well.

Wanting to ease back into the photography thing, I feel blessed that I was able to do a no-pressure shoot like this for a friend. I’m still trying to figure out the processing/edits for these photos… but I’m close to done, and I can’t wait to share more from the shoot {either here or on my blog}!

If you’re curious about the fashion sense of Shalice Noel, you can follow her Instagram here… shalicenoel

.
.

