One Century in This Life… ‘Ever With the Lord in the Next

_DSC6420

/
/

1 For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. 2 For in this tent we groan, longing to put on our heavenly dwelling, 3 if indeed by putting it on we may not be found naked. 4 For while we are still in this tent, we groan, being burdened—not that we would be unclothed, but that we would be further clothed, so that what is mortal may be swallowed up by life. He who has prepared us for this very thing is God, who has given us the Spirit as a guarantee. 6 So we are always of good courage. We know that while we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord, 7 for we walk by faith, not by sight. 8 Yes, we are of good courage, and we would rather be away from the body and at home with the Lord. 9 So whether we are at home or away, we make it our aim to please him. 10 For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, so that each one may receive what is due for what he has done in the body, whether good or evil.

~2 Corinthians 5:1-10 {ESV}

.

I’ve hung up blogging for a time, with {and ever since} all the sad and upsetting news that’s been surrounding Planned Parenthood. {Nothing I could blog about seemed appropriate and only seemed trivial in light of what has been going on, and I wanted to focus more on praying where those matters are concerned than on writing or taking pictures, though I’ve wanted to chime in here with my thoughts on it all… but have decided to wait.}

But, today, I wanted to pause my break for a time because of the sad, yet celebratory news I received yesterday.

My sweet, beautiful grandmother went home to be with Jesus yesterday. She was 100 years old, which she turned this past February. I had posted a photo here to celebrate that milestone, but never got around to posting all the other photos from her birthday party, nor to writing about the sweet celebration we had with her at the time. Now that she’s gone, I’ll make a special effort to do so.

But today, I’m only posting these photos I took just hours after receiving the news about my grandmother’s passing. All day, yesterday, it was windy and felt, somehow, powerful… which I can’t even explain. So, when spectacular storm clouds started to roll in a few short hours after I got the news and wiped away my tears, I was not surprised to see them. And as they appeared, moving quickly with strength and beauty, I could not help but think of my grandma, now eternally with her God… as well as of God himself. A faithful servant joined him yesterday in eternity. I can’t describe the level of faith and worship and loyalty my grandmother had for God. But I do trust that when she saw him face-to-face, he said “well done, good and faithful servant.”

I had also written a special post about my grandma and Anysia when she turned 99 just two months after Anysia died. Here is that post.

Alice Brock was the only grandparent I ever knew. So to lose her was and is difficult. As I have told many since yesterday, it’s not difficult to fathom in the sense that, at her age, we expected to lose her any day. But the longer someone is with you, the harder it is to grasp that they are gone… because they have always been there… always part of the fabric that is your life. My grandma was a beautiful thread in this fabric that is my life. And I hope the thread will remain, never torn or pulled out, but woven together with new threads that are beautifully enhanced because of who she was.

I’ve got many pictures to share of her… at the very least, my favorites, and I look forward to doing so. But it may have to wait until I find out more about what this coming week looks like. I am even more eager to go to Chicago and see her one last time before her body is buried, as well as celebrate her life and be with my mom who lost the second of her parents.

I actually took several photos of the clouds and sky when it all first started stirring last night. So moved by what I initially saw and captured, I couldn’t wait to come in and process the photos so I could use them for a post about my grandma. While doing just that, my husband came in to fetch me, prompting me back outside by telling me the sky had turned even more dramatic and beautiful. It was then I took a second set of sky photos. So a difference can actually be seen from the first segment of photo-taking to the next when the sky had become much more pink… one of my grandma’s favorite colors.

Here are both sets of photos, followed by one last thought I’ve been thinking in regards to seeing her again…

.
_DSC6427
_DSC6457
_DSC6445
_DSC6386
_DSC6496
_DSC6498
_DSC6507
_DSC6500
_DSC6509
_DSC6517
_DSC6503

.
I look forward to the day when I will see my sweet grandmother, my wonderful dad and our precious baby girl all together, but not nearly as much as I look forward to meeting my savior face to face.

What a day that will be. Oh, what a day that will be.

.
.

