Little Boy

_DSC2704_new
_DSC2702_new

/ /
June, 15, 2011… at 10:32 in the morning… you were born, my precious boy. And it was the happiest day of my life. It’s a tale often told by so many… they put you in my arms, and it was instant love… uncontainable, monumental love. I remember the day like the yesterday it seems to be.
.

And now you’re four. And I still can’t get past the fact that you turned one, two or three. Nope. And now you’re four.
.

I love to reminisce about that day you were born… that moment… and all the hours that surrounded it, like the night before when we checked in to the hospital to begin induction, so full of anticipation. And it’s not just those hours I joyfully reminisce over, but all the months and days that surrounded your birth, too… going all the way back to that day I found the + sign on the test that told us whether or not you were in my tummy, and so many other memorable days between then and now. To say you are a gift to two souls who once thought we’d never be able to have children is a huge understatement. In one glance, the realization of your existence wiped away every tear I’d cried over our difficulty conceiving.
.

With all the sorrow we’ve known in your short life so far {and prior}, you’ve been the joy that filled in what each sorrow carved out.
.

I could write so much about you. And wish I had before I sat down to compose this. But I know me, and I could write pages about just your smile alone, not to mention everything else I’d likely go on and on about. I wanted to post this at exactly 10:32 today, though, and it’s now 10:15. so I have to be brief.
.

No matter… because someone else {Mindy Gledhill} said in the short-but-sweetest way what I would like to say {and probably would have rambled on in saying}. Her version of how I feel about you will most definitely suffice. Her song is, quite possibly, my favorite song ever written… in every way.
.

It makes me cry… she sings of an hourglass and how like one life is. Six short hours your sister lived. And you… four years of life so far have gone by in the blink of an eye. The comparison to an hourglass of having and raising children is so spot on. Yet, the memories we’ve all made are forever kept, and in the precious photos I have of you and your sister, I hold on to each one.
.

How I love you, little boy…
.

.
.

