40/52

_DSC1151
_DSC1184_1178

“A portrait {or three} of my child, once a week, every week, in 2014.”

/ /

Izzy—Sleeping on the office couch in a position I’ve never seen before… one I just had to capture because it may never happen again.
. .

I probably shouldn’t have done another napping photo for Project 52 so soon after the photos I posted for week 38. But these were the only pictures I got of him this week, so they had to do. Plus, I figured they went well with the state of my life right now, which could be summed up in two words… sheer exhaustion. And, he just looks so precious sleeping here. He’d been watching cartoon… what he does mostly these days while I’m working, if he’s not playing with toys in his room, that is. But playing in his room by himself does not come easily. He wants to be by me all the time. Even if I leave the office to talk on the phone in the living room without the distracting noise of his cartoons in the background, he has to join me in there and bring some toys with him. I love that he’s like that. I know a day will come when he’s “too cool” to be hanging on mom all the time. So I’ll take it now. I do feel bad for him, though. I’m pretty much glued to this computer, working night and day. He is always so glad when dad gets home and he’ll have someone to play with. Feeling hopeful that all this will let up soon. I’m just so exhausted. More than I have ever been.

I did, miraculously, manage to write down one Izzyism this week.

I was snacking on some tortilla chips while working in the office. He walked up to me and said the following…

“Mama, don’t just eat corn chips, ’cause you gotta eat vegetables, too.
Vegetables make you strong.
So please can you have some vegetables so you get big and strong?”

Yes, Izzy. I do need more vegetables, because I’ve never needed more strength than ever before. Sometimes kids have all the answers that we so easily don’t see. =)

.

.

