36/52

_DSC6446

_DSC6445

_DSC6444

“A portrait {or three} of my child, once a week, every week, in 2014.”

/ /

Izzy—Learning to float on his back during bath time.
.
. .

He just started doing this on his own. I’m glad he feels safe enough to try it and learn it when he’s in there… so that if he is ever in a pool or any other body of water and needs to float for safety or survival, he’ll know that it’s possible… and more importantly, that he can do it. I remember urging him to try to learn during bath time almost a year ago. But he did not seem to want to have anything to do with it… just too nervous at that point. But he’s lovin’ it now. He’s fascinated by the way it all works. I love to witness his curiosity about how things work. But even more, I love to see him having fun. And I’ll never ever ever grow tired of that smile.
.

And now, for my one and only Izzyism this week…
.

{While we were driving tonight.}
Izzy: Thank you for the bumpy ride, bumpy road.
.
.
That’s all I have for this week. He had plenty of goofy, funny and clever note-worthy things for me to write down throughout the week. But I was buried under freelance work {poor neglected kid} and I barely fed or bathed him the past several days, let alone listened well to him. I mean, it’s gotten to the point where he is talking to the road!!… just so anyone will listen. =)
.
Makes me sad to say it, but it’s the truth. I don’t like life being this way. The older I get, the less I like busyness. But I can’t complain about it being this way for a season when we are grateful to have the work. Perhaps it’s just a matter of finding our balance. I hope that comes with time, or with time, less of a need to be this busy. He’s loving preschool, so that helps to remove some of the guilt over my divided attention… oh, and a good counseling session helps, too. =)

.

