19/52

_DSC8028

“A portrait of my child, once a week, every week, in 2014.”

/ /

Izzy—Bringing me a dandelion flower at the park.
. .

.
Here are some of our convos this past week…

.

Isaac:
{holding his cup with a look of woe}
There’s no more grape juice.
Me:
So you want me to get you some more?
Isaac:
Yes, I need millions and millions and a bunch of it.

 

 

Me:
Isaac, pick up your Legos.
{it’s a Thomas the Train Lego set}
Isaac:
{trying to avoid the dreadful task of cleaning up after himself}
Is there a train around here that can clean up my Legos?
Mr. B:
{sternly} Yes. The Isaac express.

 

 

Isaac:
I don’t wanna go to church. I wanna have two breakfasts.

 

 

Me:
{holding him in my lap after dinner and sadly noticing how big he’s grown}
Isaac, please stop growing.
Isaac:
But I wanna grow.

 

 

{Okay… a little set-up here… I normally don’t take naps, but had to get up earlier than usual one day to do some freelance work. So I was more tired than usual by the time Isaac’s afternoon nap-time came along. I decided to take a nap at the same time, and whenever that happens, I let him take his nap with me in our bed. We were both on our sides, his body sort of spooned/nestled into mine. My face was up next to the back of his head, I noticed he kept squirming and looking back toward me to see what was causing the sensation he was feeling on his head, looking right at my nose. I kept telling him to lay still and go to sleep. Finally, he whispered to me with his hand over his mouth…}
Isaac:
Stop sniffing me and go to sleep.
Me:
Isaac, I’m not sniffing you. I’m just breathing.
Isaac:
Stop breathing, Mama.

.

.

 

