From the Archives

_DSC0954

Thanksgiving, 2013.
This photo’s a clicker… much better viewed larger. You can click it to see it that way.
/ /

Mr. B’s brother and his pregnant wife and their daughter had left for the evening, after bringing the most wonderful catered dinner from Boston Market {I highly recommend this route for people who are overwhelmed or under life circumstances that make cooking a giant feast even more overwhelming than it normally is} and spending the day with us. Two pregnant mamas to toddlers were not about to be cooking a Thanksgiving meal for our families, so a delicious pre-cooked catered one works just as well. And let me tell you… it was almost, if not as much, as delicious as any homemade Thanksgiving meal I ever had. But I digress. After our guests had gone, Mr. B and Izzy played one of their usual games… Izzy is Izzy and his dad is a ferocious cone-head dinosaur {a name they made up} that’s going to get him when he can’t run anymore and has nowhere to hide. Oh, the laughter… I wish I could play the sweet sound of it that I hear in my mind’s ear along with this photo. It’s more beautiful than the sight, I think.

/ /

DSC_0361 DSC_0355

Izzy in his crib at about six months old or slightly younger, circa end of 2011… back at the old house.
/ /

What in the world? Where did this guy go? I so crazily miss those days. He was such a good baby. These were some of my favorite shots of him from those days. I wish I had taken more in this place at that time of day with so much good light… light so good that I think I took these with my old kit lens and they still came out clear instead of in a big blur like they usually turned out with that lens. You know what’s crazy? His eye color here was not enhanced in any way. They were really that blue! They still are, but they don’t seem as vibrant as they once were. Of course, if I got him in just as ample of lighting, they probably would still seem that blue. Golly, I miss those days so much.

/ /

IMG_7929Mr. B. playing guitar just a few months after we moved here.
/ /

It was spring, I was pregnant and nauseous, all our furniture was pushed to one corner of the living room so that we could sprinkle baking soda all over the carpet to remove the old-carpet smell that was keeping me out of the room lest I vomit on it and make it smell even worse, and we were all just chillin’ on a Saturday {or Sunday?} morning. It felt so good to have the door open and fresh, warm air coming through for a change {though I couldn’t quite enjoy it fully, because even fresh spring air aromas made me queasy}. Mr. B. was enjoying a rare moment of guitar playing… something he never has much of a chance to do these days. He works so hard… in fact, he’s there right now. On a Saturday. This guy. He is a hard-working, beautiful man. And I love him dearly.
.

Both of them. They are my world. They are my loves.

/ /

Thought I would start posting some photos taken during the nine months that I was “out of the picture” during my pregnancy… from the archives. And since I’m digging back, I figured I’d include some old favorites from even further back, too. There have been so many that I never posted, even when I was actively blogging. Probably because I was taking more pictures than I was able to keep up with in blog posts.
.

There is not one thing I do not love about photography. But the thing I love most is this… it preserves so very much. When I look at these, I don’t just remember what it all looked like during those times. I remember smells. I remember sounds. I remember the things I was thinking about and all that I was feeling at that time. I remember the beautiful parts of my life and the blessings that show up, like the day a feast was bought and brought to our home so that we could feel normal celebrating a holiday that was difficult to celebrate in the midst of our sadness, or the gratitude I felt because I had such an easy time of it with my first baby as he was such an easy-to-take-care-of little guy that whole first year {still is}, or the sweet impromptu moments when I get to hear beautiful notes from my husband’s guitar hitching a ride and floating through the air on the breezes of Spring that come through our front door and over to my ears.
.

Photography preserves all of that.
.

Reminds me of this Aaron Siskind {photographer} quote…

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film
is captured forever…it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”
.

Pretty cool, no?
/ /

