Kunik

_DSC2396-2

_DSC2397-2

_DSC2395-2

/ /
I have recently taught Izzy how to give an eskimo kiss, which I’ve only just today learned has a term… kunik. It’s the sweetest thing to watch when he gives them and I can tell he loves that I taught him this alternative to the traditional kiss as a way of showing his affection.

It was actually an accident, my showing him how to use his nose to give a kiss. He was crying in bed a few nights ago… after we had tucked him in. He was calling out for one of us and saying he was scared {a recent new phase during bedtime routine}. Normally, I pass these things off as antics to try to stay up past his bedtime. But I can usually tell if something is genuinely wrong or if it’s just another one of his shenanigans, because when it’s the real deal, there are real tears.

I went in to check on him and tell him to go to sleep. With my face up close to his, I could feel real tears all over his. I sort of instinctively used my nose {because mine was dry} to wipe away the tears from his nose and eyes. As I was doing so, I realized it was a little bit like giving an eskimo kiss. I also realized that, in his 2.5 years of life so far, I’ve never taught him what eskimo kisses are. In fact, I don’t know that I’ve even given him one, probably because I just can’t get enough of the traditional kisses I have come to love smothering him with. So I seized the opportunity to teach him then and there.

Deciding to teach him turned out well for me, because he loved this discovery. He kept asking me to give him more, and each time I did, it would bring the broadest smile to his lips… which were now freed from the obligation of night-night kisses.

So sweet.

I have to admit, I didn’t really want to stop giving them… maybe even more than he did not want to stop receiving them.

Now, eskimo kisses are part of our everyday. He even enjoys just saying it. Eskimo… it’s fun to say.

I was lucky to have my camera nearby when I caught these two in a kunik moment tonight. I missed the really cute ones… when Izzy was standing in front of Mr. B., leaning forward to touch noses and foreheads and almost pushing his dad backward with his weight. By the time I got my camera ready, Izzy was up on dad’s lap so as to accompany his kisses with hugs. Still cute, though.

This is what my night has been. Just sweet and quiet and laid back. We had a fire going, I found a really great independent documentary film to watch on television, and I was allowed to just lay on the couch and be sick {Izzy has stopped throwing up, and now it’s my turn to feel worse}.

Though sick, it’s been a pleasant little evening amidst what is normally a mundane week. I have to say, it was good.

And I’m always grateful for good.
.

{By the way, the film I watched is called Blood Brother, and I HIGHLY recommend it. It’s definitely a tear-jerker, but also deeply touching on many levels for me right now.}
.

