Taking Stock

taking stock

/ /
Making…
get-organized lists
.

Cooking…
Izzy’s chicken fingers and carrots {can I get away with calling that cooking?}
.

Drinking…
a cup of earl grey with cream
.

Reading…
through the list found here
.

Wanting…
the days to slow down before Isaac turns twelve and stops saying things
like “I’m are” instead of “I am” {It truly melts my heart each time.}
or “buhmember” instead of “remember” or “breakstast” instead of “breakfast”

.

Looking…
forward to spring and days when loss seems less intense
.

Playing…
Innocence Mission on Spotify
.

Wasting…
oh, goodness. time. money. food. energy. But then, I’m learning a new way of life
and hoping for grace in regards to those things for now.
.

Sewing…
nothing, sadly {I should just take this one out. I will never sew.}
.

Wishing…
that I could write like this
.

Enjoying…
my two boys, especially the really short one who’s with me all day and is helping me to laugh
.

Waiting…
for the dancing that comes after the mourning
.

Liking…
fires in our fireplace on these chilly days
.

Wondering…
what my goals should be this year
{Just feeling like I need to set some other than Get through the loss and grief,
but not sure what they should be yet. I think they’ll be house-related.}
.

Loving…
words of comfort and hope in scripture
.

Hoping…
to get more video of Izzy these days, as these days are far too fleeting
.

Marveling…
at how much more difficult this all is than I thought it would be… losing her… and how deep this pain runs
.

Needing…
lots of storage solutions… shelves for the basement, bins, baskets, shelves for every room,
closet systems. I have plenty of space here. I just need containers.

Smelling…
a favorite scent… The Charmer
.

Wearing…
clothing not really worth writing about… comfy, though
.

Following…
a few new blogs… mostly those by other grieving parents who have lost an infant too
.

Noticing…
that the sun’s been sticking around a little bit longer each day
.

Thinking…
of her
.

Knowing…
us three will be okay
.

Focusing…
on getting through this. Not through as in over. Through as in survive.
.

Bookmarking…
everything i come across that helps me with loss. I did this before Anysia was born, too.
Songs, sermons, devotionals, articles, videos, lyrics, blogs, etc.
.

Opening…
long-neglected doors and drawers that need some t.l.c.
{which is why i could use all those storage containers I referred to above}
.

Giggling…
with both sincere and courtesy laughter at Izzy’s jokes
{He’s in this new joke-telling phase that is quite hilarious, actually.
Knock-knocks are his favorite. I really must catch it on video before the phase fizzles.}
.

Feeling…
oh… just so, so much

.
.
I thought I would start doing these taking stock posts regularly, as I like the simple, brief format of recapping what a day or chunk of days looks like… and I don’t have to do much thinking for writing, as it’s all sort of in a prompt format. Like fill-in-the-blanks. I started doing something like it back on my old blog. But I never kept it up. Maybe I will here in this new space. They are nice, light breather posts, especially for a time like this. I have a lot to write out and through. But sometimes it’s better if I just simplify. I can still convey the gist of what my days are like, and by it, look back and catch a glimpse of them when this blog becomes my old-time’s-sake diary someday.
.

