Footwork

View More: http://sherahgphotography.pass.us/anysia-bateman
View More: http://sherahgphotography.pass.us/anysia-bateman
View More: http://sherahgphotography.pass.us/anysia-bateman
View More: http://sherahgphotography.pass.us/anysia-bateman

/ /
I love these feet photos that my photographer friend took when Anysia was born. There are so many solemn and sacred photos from that day, for which I am grateful, because my friend who took the pictures exactly captured the day as it was. If there were tears, she captured those. If there were smiles, she captured those too. Somehow, she documented the day so perfectly, going way above and beyond what we could have hoped for. I find myself glued to all the photos for long stretches of time each day. When I see them, it is as though I am right back there in that room again… so I treasure them all more than I could ever describe.

It has been nice to be able to use them in my posts, too… since I’m not really taking all that many pictures myself these days.

Anyway, I love that she got a few unexpected shots like these. They touch my heart so specially, because they remind me that not all about that day was sad. I’ve written often about how much peace and gratitude… and awe… filled the room and our hearts that day. But seeing these makes me realize there was actually some fun and lightness taking place in the room, too. I think these photos are somewhat whimsical {in a good way}, especially the first three… I love the perspective in them. In that fourth photo, Sherah had come to document the moments that we spent showing Izzy his baby sister’s tiny feet, comparing them to how large his feet now seem to be. Hers were the sweetest little toes I have ever seen. When I find myself missing the physical touch that I long to have with her again, it often takes the form of wishing I was able to nibble on her adorably tiny toes.

We did get some foot prints of her feet that day… on a white ball cap and a Christmas ornament, as well as on a plain old piece of paper. And I’m delighted to have those prints. But the photos… oh, these photos. To have visuals of the precious details of so many things {like her small feet} that made her so sweet… that just makes me happy. Sad too, of course…

How I miss her.

I’m not sure I gave her enough foot kisses. The one thing I did do a lot of in the short time I had with her was touch her teeny nose, which even made it into some of the videos taken of her. But her feet… I didn’t get enough feet time. I see these photos, and then I just want to reach right in there and take hold of her foot {the way I have it in the photo above} and start smothering it with a thousand+ kisses.

And that’s when I have to tear myself away from looking. Because I’ll probably just start bawling. I do enough of that already. Instead, I’ll try turning away while I’m still simply smiling about those sweet, sweet tootsies.
.

View More: http://sherahgphotography.pass.us/anysia-bateman

{I am somewhat amazed to see how almost exactly like her brother’s feet hers are. I think I even have a very similar picture of Izzy’s fee this way after he was born. I’ll have to search for it, because I think it would be precious to frame it together with this one above.}
.

View More: http://sherahgphotography.pass.us/anysia-bateman

.
For you have delivered my soul from death,
yes, my feet from falling,
that I may walk before God
in the light of life.
{Psalm 56:13, ESV}
.

.
Photographs by Sherah G
.

